Moat on the Ledge

Fairport Convention
January, 1982
# Title Writer(s) Guest musician(s) Duration
1. Walk Awhile Dave Swarbrick, Richard Thompson   4:08
2. Country Pie Bob Dylan   3:23
3. Rosie Swarbrick   4:15
4. Matty Groves Traditional, arrangement by Fairport Convention   9:30
5. Both Sides Now Joni Mitchell Judy Dyble - vocals 3:25
6. Poor Will and the Hangman Thompson, Swarbrick   5:37
7. The Brilliancy Medley / Cherokee Shuffle Trad., arr. Fairport   3:27
8. Woman or a Man Thompson   3:20
9. High School Confidential Jerry Lee Lewis Ralph McTell - electric guitar 4:20

Moat on the Ledge: Live at Broughton Castle, August '81 is a live folk rock album by Fairport Convention. The album was produced by Simon Nicol and Dave Pegg.

The album was recorded during an early reunion festival, held at Broughton Castle in August 1981, before that event finally settled in its current Cropredy venue. It features a reunion appearance by Richard Thompson and the first public performance in some years by Judy Dyble.

It was originally released in 1982 as Woodworm WR001 (the number appeared on the label but not the sleeve), it has had various reissues, most recently on the 2003 Talking Elephant CD TECD052.

    • Dave Swarbrick - vocals, fiddle, mandolin
    • Richard Thompson - vocals, electric guitar
    • Simon Nicol - vocals, electric and acoustic guitars
    • Dave Pegg - bass
    • Dave Mattacks - drums
    • Bruce Rowland - drums